Archive for April, 2012

Maha Bandha

Sit in a state of Moola bandha and contract rectum and genitals by pulling up and raising the Apana Vayu (prana situated at rectum and discharge waste), to unite it with Samana Vayu (prana situated at navel responsible for digestion) and lower the Prana Vayu (air that keeps the heart and lungs working). With this the nectar of the group of the nerve centers of the yogis moves upwards to brain.

Leave a Comment

Moola Bandha

Sit in Siddhasana by pressing rectum with heal of left foot and placing right ankle on the left ankle. This mudra delays old ageing.

Leave a Comment

Jalandhar Bandha

Contract throat by bending the head forward so that chin touches the chest. It is called Jalandhar-bandha. It strengthens heart.

Leave a Comment

Uddiyan Bandha

Contract the nerve center in the central part of the stomach including navel towards the spine. Many diseases are cured by itself with this bandha.

Leave a Comment

Nabho Mudra

A yogi even while busy in doing anything, keeps the tip of the tongue upwards in contact with uvula and breathes comfortably. The regular practice of this mudra keeps a yogi free from all diseases.

Leave a Comment

Maha Mudra

Sit in a posture pressing the rectum with the heel of left foot, stretch the right leg forward and hold fingers of right foot with both hands. Then bend forward contracting the throat in and meditate in bhrikuti that is the center of eyebrows.  With sufficient practice of this mudra cough caused by tuberculosis, spleen, chronic fever etc. are cured.

Leave a Comment

Yog Mudras

From the ancient times, Lord Shiva is considered the originator of the Hatha Yoga, Who divided this divine knowledge into following seven sections:

  1. Shat karma (Six Cleansings)
  2. Asana (Postures)
  3. Mudras
  4. Pranayama (breathing exercises)
  5. Pratyahara (Control of senses)
  6. Dhyana (Meditation)
  7. Samadhi (a state of contemplation or trance)


Every method has its definite purpose. Shat karma for cleansing , Asanas for rigidity or strengthening body, Mudras for stability, Pranayama for lightness, Pratyahara for tolerance, Dhyana for self-realization and Samadhi for moksha or liberation.


Mudra may be described as an asana with meditation at a particular point for a longer duration. There are twenty-one yoga mudras and their purpose is to attain stability in yogic way of life. Our purpose here is to provide a common knowledge of the mudras to readers. With the proper practice of mudras one can achieve pratyahara, the pranas rise up and the Kundalini is awakened. According to Hatha yoga, value of human life lies in the awakened Kundalini, otherwise from spiritual point of view human and animals are on the same plane.


The names of twenty-one mudras are as follows:

  1. Maha mudra
  2. Nabho mudra
  3. Uddiyana bandha
  4. Jalandhar bandha
  5. Moola bandha
  6. Maha bandha
  7. Mahabedha
  8. Khechari mudra
  9. Vipritkari mudra
  10. Yoni mudra
  11. Vajroni mudra
  12. Shaktichalani mudra
  13. Tadagi mudra
  14. Manduki mudra
  15. Shanbhavi mudra
  16. Panch dharna mudra
  17. Ashwini mudra
  18. Pashani mudra
  19. Kaki mudra
  20. Matangini mudra
  21. Bhujangini mudra

Leave a Comment

Kewali Pranayama

This Pranayama is especially to attain an advanced stage and for practicing twenty-four hours a day. A mantra ‘Hamsa’ or ‘Soham’ which means ‘that is me’ is practiced in it. The mind is a power of the soul indeed and to dissolve it in the same (soul) is actually the union of Shiva (supreme soul) and Shakti (energy). When wavering of the mind stops, then, it drowns in the soul and Kewali Pranayama is done to achieve this purpose.


While breathing in, one should have such a feeling as it contains a divine light and imagine the mantra ‘Ham’; and while breathing out, it should be imagined as the flow of glowing prana is mixing into a vast divine light and a sound of ‘sa’ is heard within.


In this way, recitation of the mantra ‘Hamsa’ should go on with the natural breathing process without any extra effort, and the divine self should be visualized within and outside in the integrated form. The ‘Hamsa’ mantra is called the ‘Ajapa’ mantra or ‘Ajapa Gayatri’ mantra because its recitation goes on constantly by itself with the respiration process.


This Pranayama affects the Kundalini Shakti also. When breath goes in, it should be felt that light is going through center of the forehead (bhrikuti) and spine to the Mooladhar Chakra. Then it comes out through the same way as a divinely bright breath from the spine and bhrikuti (center of forehead) mixing into a vast divine animated form.


Sadhaka of Kewali Pranayama starts visualizing the soul faster. With the dissolving of Prana into the divine element the setting in of mind in the same is natural. Because “yatra prana liyate tatra mana liyate” that is the mind goes where the pranas go.


With this practice, the mind and the brain remain in tranquility, enhances life because the speed of pranas lengthens and becomes subtle, which relaxes heart and lungs.


Initially, this should be practiced both the times in morning and evening while sitting in any posture. After a long practice, one attains the skill and its recitation goes on itself even while working. It is recited twenty one thousand six hundred (21600) times in a day and night.

Leave a Comment

Plavini kumbhaka Pranayama

This can be attained by filling air into stomach by puraka and holding it for sufficient time. With the practice of this kumbhaka the sadhaka floats on water like a leaf of lotus flower. (Puraka and Rechaka through the nose)

Leave a Comment

Sheetkari Pranayama

Keep tongue behind the teeth and take the air in through the chinks of teeth, making a hissing sound and do rechaka (exhale) from both the nostrils. This Pranayama is especially beneficial for good physique, gracefulness, and good health. Hindrances like hunger, thirst, sleep and laziness are done away with.

Leave a Comment

Older Posts »