Archive for Shat Chakras

Dashamdwara and the way to Moksha

Because the tenth opening is situated at the top it is called Utterayana (Upper Path). The other ways are located below and these lower ways are named as ‘Dakshinayana’. It is belief that giving up life through Utterayana leads to higher stages and giving up life through Dakshinayana takes one to lower stages after death. Without knowing the secrets of the prana, some scholars have associated Utterayana and Dakshinayana with the motion of the sun. It is written that if the sun is towards the North then it is Utterayana ad if it is in South it is Dakshinayana. Those who give up life during Utterayana attain higher stages; otherwise they get into lower stages. If this idea is accepted, then countless living beings die when the sun is in Utterayana and similarly in the Dakshinayana also. Then the deeds of the individual and the practice of Yoga are rendered of no value.

Let this be remembered that among the nine openings the upper opening have comparatively greater importance than the lower ones. Therefore, through which opening one shall leave this body is decided according to ones deeds, emotions, thoughts, desires, practice of Yoga and samskaras. Hence to get to a better state after death, it is extremely important to be cautious about the deeds, thoughts etc throughout the life.

Leave a Comment

Importance of the Dashamdwara

The importance of  this opening is unique. The gate always remains closed and a common person knows nothing about it. Only the Yogis understand its importance and they also know the method to open it. When a Yogi awakens the Kundalini and raises the prana up to this opening, it is the final destination. If one opens it and leaves the body by discharging prana through this opening, one gets to Kevalya or moksha (the union with the absolute). Only the great Yogis can leave the body this way and achieve the ultimate aim of life (moksha). All the rest give up life through other openings.

Leave a Comment

Navadwara: Nine Openings

The nine openings of the body are generally known to everyone. These gates perform different processes of the body and help in gathering knowledge and discharging wastes. All these openings often remain open and keep doing their respective job themselves. These nine opening are two ears, two eyes, two nostrils, one mouth, rectum and genitals. the ears perform the hearing process and discharge some waste also from within. From eyes too the wastes come out and they see also. The nostrils also discharge enough waste and prana-vayu (breathing) and smelling processes are carried out. The mouth also discharges some wastes and carries out the processes of speech and eating food, and the organs for discharging urine and stool are main openings for discharging the wastes of the body. All these openings derive power from head only to carry out their respective functions.

Leave a Comment

Dashamdwara – Sahasrara: Introduction and Location

In Yoga head is known as the most important part of body. It is the chief of all the parts. All the physical, mental and spiritual processes are undertaken here. All the prana-nadis (nerves) originate from here. All the parts of the body, rather every atom and molecule derives energy from this. Its weakness hampers the process of whole body and by strengthening it all physical and mental actions of life go on extremely systematically.


Sahasrara Chakra


In the scriptures of Yoga, knowing its importance the head has been given the top place above the shat chakras, and "Sahasrara dal kamal" (thousands of nadis) have been imagined here, which means that countless number of nadis originate from here. The light and color of this center is beyond description and the lord of this is the supreme power (Parbrahama), Who is greater than the creator of the universe. In the physical form Shri Sadguru (Yogi Guru) is enthroned here. It is located in the center of the skull and is called Dashamdwara.

Leave a Comment

Yogic Concept of Hridaya

According to Yoga, spine is the place for mental concentration where shat chakras exist within the Sushumna Nadi (nerve). It has been named Hridaya in the Yogic scriptures. Literal meaning of Hridaya is the central part. The Sushumana Nadi in spine is the central part of body. Therefore, it is defined as Hridaya.


In the Yogic scriptures wherever the word Hridaya is mentioned or sadhakas are told to concentrate in Hridaya it refers to the concentration of consciousness / mind only in the Sushumna. In a book, Yoga Swarodya, it is mentioned that Sushumna Nadi where all the chakras are situated is the only Hridaya and it is unanimously accepted in all the scriptures. A physical thing (heart) is not the Hridaya as understood by many.


Therefore, sadhaka of Yoga should consider the Sushumna Nadi only as the Hridaya instead of heart. We can say that the creation of the shat-chakras, is the science of body based on the intuitive knowledge of experienced Yogis. With the constant practice of meditation on these chakras one can attain the higher planes of Yoga and Spiritualism.

Leave a Comment

A basic mantra

A basic mantra has been imagined for each chakra and the mantra helps in meditation of that chakra.


No. Shat Chakra Basic Mantra
1. Mooladhara Chakra L
2. Swadhisthana Chakra V
3. Manipura Chakra R
4. Anahata Chakra Y
5. Vishudha Chakra H
6. Agya / Ajna Chakra O

Leave a Comment

Locations of the Shat Chakras

Another important point here is that these chakras are situated in the spine and to imagine the exact location is difficult. Therefore, the nature has created specific points opposite to the chakras on the front side. The chakras exist exactly behind these points in the spine.


No. Shat Chakra Symbolic place
1. Mooladhara Chakra Rectum
2. Swadhisthana Chakra Genitals
3. Manipura Chakra Navel
4. Anahata Chakra Center point of the lower chest
5. Vishudha Chakra Center of the upper chest
6. Agya / Ajna Chakra Center of the forehead


To concentrate on these chakras the yogis have named them Kamal (lotus) and every lotus has a different number of petals (nadis), which originate from each chakra.

Leave a Comment

Deities of the Shat Chakras

Each of the shat-chakras has its deity.


1. Mooladhara Chakra Ganapati
2. Swadhisthana Chakra Brahama
3. Manipura Chakra Vishnu
4. Anahata Chakra Shiva
5. Vishudha Chakra Soul
6. Agya / Ajna Chakra the God

Leave a Comment

Letters of the alphabets on Kamal dals


  Shat Chakra Alphabets of Sanskrit Script
1. Mooladhara Chakra V, Sh, Sha, S
2. Swadhisthana Chakra B, Bh, M, Y, R, L
3. Manipura Chakra D, D h, N h, T, T h, D, N, P, Ph
4. Anahata Chakra K, Kh, G, Gh, Dn, Ch, Chh, J, Jh, Nh, T, Th
5. Vishudha Chakra A, Aa, E, Ee, U, Uu, Re, Ree Lre, Lree, Aae, O, Oo, An, Ann
6. Agya / Ajna Chakra H, Ksh

Leave a Comment

Elements of Chakras and their colors

Every chakra (center) has been affixed with a particular element and its color.


No. Chakra Element Color
1. Mooladhara Chakra Earth Yellow
2. Swadhisthana Chakra Water White
3. Manipura Chakra Fire Red
4. Anahata Chakra Air Ash-black
5. Vishudha Chakra Sky Light blue
6. Agya / Ajna Chakra Self / Soul White light

Comments (1)

Older Posts »