A basic mantra

A basic mantra has been imagined for each chakra and the mantra helps in meditation of that chakra.


No. Shat Chakra Basic Mantra
1. Mooladhara Chakra L
2. Swadhisthana Chakra V
3. Manipura Chakra R
4. Anahata Chakra Y
5. Vishudha Chakra H
6. Agya / Ajna Chakra O

Leave a Comment

Locations of the Shat Chakras

Another important point here is that these chakras are situated in the spine and to imagine the exact location is difficult. Therefore, the nature has created specific points opposite to the chakras on the front side. The chakras exist exactly behind these points in the spine.


No. Shat Chakra Symbolic place
1. Mooladhara Chakra Rectum
2. Swadhisthana Chakra Genitals
3. Manipura Chakra Navel
4. Anahata Chakra Center point of the lower chest
5. Vishudha Chakra Center of the upper chest
6. Agya / Ajna Chakra Center of the forehead


To concentrate on these chakras the yogis have named them Kamal (lotus) and every lotus has a different number of petals (nadis), which originate from each chakra.

Leave a Comment

Deities of the Shat Chakras

Each of the shat-chakras has its deity.


1. Mooladhara Chakra Ganapati
2. Swadhisthana Chakra Brahama
3. Manipura Chakra Vishnu
4. Anahata Chakra Shiva
5. Vishudha Chakra Soul
6. Agya / Ajna Chakra the God

Leave a Comment

Letters of the alphabets on Kamal dals


  Shat Chakra Alphabets of Sanskrit Script
1. Mooladhara Chakra V, Sh, Sha, S
2. Swadhisthana Chakra B, Bh, M, Y, R, L
3. Manipura Chakra D, D h, N h, T, T h, D, N, P, Ph
4. Anahata Chakra K, Kh, G, Gh, Dn, Ch, Chh, J, Jh, Nh, T, Th
5. Vishudha Chakra A, Aa, E, Ee, U, Uu, Re, Ree Lre, Lree, Aae, O, Oo, An, Ann
6. Agya / Ajna Chakra H, Ksh

Leave a Comment

Elements of Chakras and their colors

Every chakra (center) has been affixed with a particular element and its color.


No. Chakra Element Color
1. Mooladhara Chakra Earth Yellow
2. Swadhisthana Chakra Water White
3. Manipura Chakra Fire Red
4. Anahata Chakra Air Ash-black
5. Vishudha Chakra Sky Light blue
6. Agya / Ajna Chakra Self / Soul White light

Comments (1)

Shat Chakras and Petals


No. Shat Chakra No. of Petals (nerves)
1. Mooladhara Chakra 4
2. Swadhisthana Chakra 6
3. Manipura Chakra 10
4. Anahata Chakra 12
5. Vishudha Chakra 6
6. Agya / Ajna Chakra 2


Shat Chakras

Leave a Comment

Sushumna Nadi and Kundalini

All these chakras are situated in a particular nerve, which is called Sushumna Nadi. This is the central nerve of backbone. Hence, concentration of mind has special effect on Sushumna Nadi. Such a state leads to a deeper concentration.


The Sushumna Nadi is related to another special nerve, which is situated at the bottom end of the spine. Its name is Kundalini Nadi. It is also called ‘Serpent’ or ‘Bhujangini’ because it is situated there in three and a half circles like a snake. When mind concentrates on Sushumna, it experiences a special awakening, which affects the Kundalini Nadi also and it experiences the straightening of it upwards (awakenness).


In this way the Kundalini, which remains dormant, awakens after regular practice for a long time. It uncoils itself and rises up along with Sushumna Nadi as a snake raises it hood. Its upper end goes up to brain and it is said the pranas of a yogi reach up to Sahasrara (Dashamdwara) that is brain. When the Kundalini rises, it goes up through all the chakras. This stage comes after a deep concentration on any one of the chakras.

Leave a Comment

The name of the Chakras

Starting from the bottom of the spine, these are –

1. First Center – Mooladhara Chakra
2. Second Center – Swadhishthana Chakra
3. Third Center – Manipura Chakra
4. Fourth Center – Anahata Chakra
5. Fifth Center – Vishudha Chakra
6. Sixth Center – Agya / Ajna Chakra

All these chakras are called Kamal (lotus) and the nerves, which originate from these centers, are called the Kamal-dal.


The mind and prana are deeply associated with each other. By holding the breath the mind is also held. With concentration of mind in any one of these chakras, a particular activity is experienced in the prana-nadis (channels) and in this way the activated nerves enhance the concentration of the mind further.

Leave a Comment

Shat Chakras (Six Nerve Centers): The Base of Centers: The Spine

The chakras are the psychic-energy centers of the body. These chakras are conceived of as focal points where psychic forces and bodily functions merge with and interact with each other. In the human body, six major Chakras are located in Sushumna Nadi along the spinal cord which are of principal importance. Each of these major chakras is associated with a specific color, shape, sense organ, natural element, deity, and mantra (monosyllabic prayer formula). The Muladhara encircles a mysterious divine potency (Kundalini) that the individual attempts, by Yogic techniques, to raise from chakra to chakra until it reaches the Sahasrara and self-illumination results.


The Yogic Shat Chakras is an extremely important subject. Many scholars have written books about the subject. The spine is the base of these shat-chakras. Names of the six chakras, Sushumna Nadi and Kundalini are briefly described in next post.

Leave a Comment

Mudras: Epilog

These mudras are explained here briefly, the readers can refer to the following scriptures for elaborate information on these.

  1. The Shiva Samhita
  2. The Gherund Samhita
  3. The Goraksha Paddhati
  4. The Hatha Yoga Pradipika

(Any of the mudras described here should not be practiced without learning from an experienced Yogi Guru).

Leave a Comment

« Newer Posts · Older Posts »